Hernhill CE Primary School is a community and all those directly connected (staff, governors, parents, families and pupils) have an essential role to play in making it safe and secure.

We have a Child Protection Policy and procedures in place.  At the heart of this is the belief that all people in the school community have a responsibility to act on any concerns they have about a child’s wellbeing.

It is requirement that every school nominates a senior member of staff who will have special responsibility for Child Protection.  This member of staff, known as the Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL), has received training in this area, and can be trusted to deal with all these matters with professional confidentiality. 

The Designated Safeguarding Lead is Mrs Sarah Alexander, Headteacher. Mrs Suzanne Carroll, Miss Lisa Tomlinson and Mrs Julia Woodcock are the deputy designated safeguarding leads.  The nominated Governor for safeguarding is Mrs Lisa Alexander-Bailey. 

Do take a look at our helpful Parent Leaflet on Safeguarding 

View our Child Protection Policy via our Policies Page.

Our safeguarding policy outlines the procedures that are followed at Hernhill. The aim of this policy is to safeguard and promote our pupil’s welfare, safety and health by fostering an honest, open, caring and supportive climate and clear guidance. The pupil’s welfare is of paramount importance.